Solid Waste / Curbside Recycling Collection & Alternate Statutory Holiday Dates

All residents are reminded to place their solid waste / curbside recycling at the curb prior to 8:00 AM.

To see what day is your "Solid Waste / Curbside Recycling Day" - click here to view the Solid Waste / Curbside Recycling Route Map *Updated January 8, 2016

Statutory Holiday Solid Waste Schedule

This notice is to remind residential solid waste customers and commercial garbage customers that Town solid waste collection services will not be provided on the statutory holidays listed in the table below. The alternate pickup days are indicated. Please note and keep a copy of this list for your reference during the year.

Click to view the PDF:


The Town apologizes for any inconvenience this alternate schedule may cause. Please contact the Works and Operations Department, at 250-847-1649, if you have any questions or concerns.

2022

GARBAGE & RECYCLING ALTERNATE PICKUP DAYS

New Years Day  Tuesday, January 4, 2022
Family Day  Tuesday, February 22
Good Friday ** Thursday, April 14
Easter Monday Tuesday, April 19
Victoria Day Tuesday, May 24
Canada Day  ***Thursday, June 30
BC Day Tuesday, August 2
Labour Day Tuesday, September 6
Thanksgiving Day  Tuesday, October 11
Remembrance Day  ***Thursday, November 10
Christmas In Lieu Day Wednesday, December 28
Boxing Day, In Lieu Day Thursday, December 29
New Years Day, In Lieu Day Tuesday, January 3, 2023


 
 
 
 
 
  
 

 

 

 

Smithers Recycle Coach™ app puts recycling/garbage collection information on your smartphone: 

Download the Smithers Recycle CoachTM app that puts garbage, recycling, special waste collection details and more at your fingertips, anytime you want them. The Recycle Coach™ app is free to download and it is available from the iTunes Store and Google Play. The recycle and garbage schedules can already be accessed through this technology, and more content for this application will soon be available.

 

Other Related Solid Waste Information:

"Solid Waste Collection" Bylaw No. 1859

Bylaw No. 1886 - Fees and Charges

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle Information Page